documenta
archiv
Index:
Organizations
documenta 2

The success of 1955 enabled the realization of another documenta four years later. Therefore a GmbH (limited liability company) was founded as an organizational form. The “international exhibition” reduced its covered period to “art after 1945”, while expanding its geographical reach, including the USA. Compiled under the “international program” by the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the transatlantic large formats strongly highlighted the claim of sovereignty of the US American art production in Kassel. Furthermore they were seamlessly integrated into Werner Haftmann’s artistic thinking of continuity.


Arnold Bode’s advisor claimed that “the art has become abstract” and he wanted to prove that in the form of an exhibition. In order to that the documenta 1959 took a stand in the current debate concerning abstract art, trying to establish it as an international valid “world language” according to Haftmann’s theory of development. An extensive historical introduction with works by the classical modernism should lend credibility to the definition of binding quality standards. Consequently the new emerged exhibition series affirmed its aim to define the canon of the contemporary. Since then every documenta aims to combine objective documentation with subjective preferences.


The second documenta had also a spatial expansion. As a result of the thesis that contemporary sculptures need to withstand in the open air, a fascinating new venue had been developed: the scenery-like ruin of the Orangerie in the Karlsaue was being utilized for the presentation of the three-dimensional exhibits.

documenta
archiv
documenta 2

Der Erfolg von 1955 machte vier Jahre später eine weitere documenta möglich. Dazu wurde als Organisationsform eine GmbH gegründet. Die „internationale Ausstellung“ verkürzte ihren Erfassungszeitraum auf „Kunst nach 1945“, während sie ihren geografischen Einzugsbereich auf die USA ausdehnte. Vom „International Programm“ am Museum of Modern Art in New York zusammengestellt, brachten die transatlantischen Großformate den Anspruch der Eigenständigkeit einer US-amerikanischen Kunstproduktion in Kassel nachdrücklich zur Geltung. Zudem ließen sie sich nahtlos in Werner Haftmanns künstlerisches Kontinuitätsdenken integrieren.


„Die Kunst ist abstrakt geworden“, behauptete Arnold Bodes Berater, und er wollte diesen Befund in Form einer Ausstellung belegen. Damit bezog die documenta 1959 aktiv Stellung in der aktuellen Auseinandersetzung um die abstrakte Kunst, die sie gemäß Haftmanns Entwicklungstheorie als international gültige „Weltsprache“ zu etablieren suchte. Ein umfangreicher historischer Vorspann mit exemplarischen Werken der Klassischen Moderne sollte der Formulierung verbindlicher Qualitätsmaßstäbe Glaubwürdigkeit verleihen. Damit bekräftigte die neu entstandene Ausstellungsreihe ihre Absicht den Kanon des Zeitgenössischen zu definieren. Seitdem verbinden sich in jeder documenta objektive Dokumentationsbehauptungen mit subjektiven Interessen.


Aber auch räumlich expandierte die zweite documenta: Gemäß der These, die Plastik der Gegenwart müsse sich unter freiem Himmel bewähren, wurde für die Präsentation der dreidimensionalen Exponate in der kulissenartigen Ruine der Orangerie in der Karlsaue ein neuer faszinierender Schauplatz erschlossen.