documenta
archiv
Index:
Organizations
Staatstheater Kassel

The Staatstheater Kassel was a state-funded three-division theatre with the departments of music theatre, drama and dance. In 1954 the foundation stone was laid according to plans by Hans Scharoun, who together with Hermann Mattern and Willem Huller won the architectural competition of the state of Hesse for the design of the Staatstheater. However, the work had to be discontinued shortly thereafter due to excessive costs.

It was not until 1959 that the new building, designed by the Kassel architect Paul Bode, was completed. The Staatstheater consisted of a "Large House" and a "Small House", which was later referred to as the Opera and Playhouse. The building was built on Friedrichsplatz, near the Prussian State Theatre (1907-1943), which had suffered severe damage during the war in 1943 and was demolished in the post-war period. Bode's design followed the styles of functionalism, rationalism and organic building, which strongly influenced the building with its convex and concave forms and its cubic and rectangular structures. The artist Blasius Spreng was significantly involved in the design of the foyer and the auditorium. 1983 saw the opening of the theatre in the Fridericianum, known as "tif" for short, as the third venue.

At the first documenta, the Staatstheater Kassel organized the "Week of Modern Theatre". In addition to plays by Franz Kafka, Elliot Giraudeaux and Garcia Lorca, operas by Paul Hindemith, Arnold Schönberg and Igor Stravinsky were also presented.

documenta
archiv
Staatstheater Kassel

Das Staatstheater Kassel war ein staatlich getragenes Dreispartentheater mit den Abteilungen Musiktheater, Schauspiel und Tanz. 1954 wurde der Grundstein nach Plänen Hans Scharouns gelegt, der mit Hermann Mattern und Willem Huller den zur Gestaltung des Staatstheaters ausgeschriebenen Architektenwettbewerb des Landes Hessen gewann. Die Arbeiten mussten aufgrund zu hoher Kosten jedoch kurz darauf eingestellt werden.

Erst 1959 kam es zu der Fertigstellung des Neubaus nach dem Entwurf des Kasseler Architekten Paul Bode. Das Staatstheater bestand aus einem „Großen Haus“ und einem „Kleinen Haus“, die später mit Opern- und Schauspielhaus bezeichnet wurde. Das Gebäude entstand am Friedrichsplatz, in der Nähe des Preußischen Staatstheaters (1907-1943), das 1943 im Krieg starke Schäden erlitten hatte und in der Nachkriegszeit abgerissen wurde. Mit dem Entwurf verfolgte Bode die Stilrichtungen des Funktionalismus, des Rationalismus und des organischen Bauens, wodurch das Gebäude stark durch seine konvexen und konkaven Formen und seine kubischen und rechtwinkligen Baukörper geprägt wurde. Der Künstler Blasius Spreng war maßgeblich an der Gestaltung des Foyers und des Zuschauerraums beteiligt. 1983 folgte die Eröffnung des Theaters im Fridericianum, kurz „tif“ genannt, als dritte Spielstätte.

Zur ersten documenta veranstaltete das Staatstheater Kassel die „Woche des modernen Theaters“. Neben Schauspielen von Franz Kafka, Elliot Giraudeaux und Garcia Lorca wurden dort auch Opern von Paul Hindemith, Arnold Schönberg sowie Igor Strawinsky präsentiert.