documenta
archiv
Index:
People
Henry Clement Van de Velde
architect, painter
03.04.1863 Antwerpen, Belgium
25.10.1957 Zurich, Switzerland

From 1881 study of painting at the Académie des Beaux-Arts with Charles Verlat in Antwerp. 1884/1885 work in the studio of the portraitist Émile Auguste Charles Duran in Paris. 1887 initiator of the painting group "L'Art Indépendant". 1888 member of the artists' association "Les Vingt". 1893/1894 discontinuation of his career as a painter and turning to applied arts and architecture.


1900 move to Berlin. 1900 design of the interior of the Folkwang-Museum in Hagen and consultant of the founder Karl Ernst Osthaus. 1902 move to Weimar and foundation of the Kunstgewerblichen Seminar. Artistic consultancy for industry and arts and crafts.


From 1906/1907 head of the Großherzogliche Sächsische Kunstgewerbeschule Weimar, which later became the Bauhaus Weimar. 1906 founding member of the Deutscher Werkbund. 1908-1909 redesign of the interior of Lauterbach Palace to art nouveau style. Further commissions as an architect for private building projects. 1914 participation in the Werkbund exhibition in Cologne. 1915, with closure of the Kunstgewerbeschule, loss of the director's position. 1917 move to Switzerland.


1920 emigration to the Netherlands. In the early 1920s work on architectural designs for the private Rjiksmuseum Kröller-Müller. 1925 move to Belgium and taking up architecture professorship at the University of Ghent. 1926 director of the Institut Supérieur des Art Décoratifs Brussels. Designs for railway wagons and cruise ships. 1936 Emeritus. 1937 participation in the World Exhibition in Paris and 1939 in the New York World's Fair. 1939 appointment as a member of the Royal Commission of Monuments and Landscapes. 1947 retreat to Switzerland.

documenta
archiv
Index:
Personen
Henry Clement Van de Velde
Architekt, Maler
03.04.1863 Antwerpen, Belgien
25.10.1957 Zürich, Schweiz

Ab 1881 Studium der Malerei an der Académie des Beaux-Arts bei Charles Verlat in Antwerpen. 1884/1885 Arbeit im Atelier des Porträtisten Émile Auguste Charles Duran in Paris. 1887 Initiator der Malergruppe „L’Art Indépendant“. 1888 Mitglied der Künstlervereinigung „Les Vingt“. 1893/1894 Abbruch seiner Malerkarriere und Hinwendung zur angewandten Kunst und Architektur.


1900 Umzug nach Berlin. 1900 Gestaltung des Interieurs für das Folkwang-Museum in Hagen und Beratung des Gründers Karl Ernst Osthaus. 1902 Umzug nach Weimar und Gründung des Kunstgewerblichen Seminars. Künstlerische Beratung für Industrie und Kunsthandwerk.


Ab 1906/1907 Leitung der Großherzoglich Sächsischen Kunstgewerbeschule Weimar, aus der später das Bauhaus Weimar hervorging. 1906 Gründungsmitglied des Deutschen Werkbundes. 1908-1909 Umgestaltung des Interieurs von Schloss Lauterbach im Jugendstil. Weiterhin Aufträge als Architekt für private Bauvorhaben. 1914 Teilnahme an der Werkbundausstellung in Köln. 1915, mit Schließung der Kunstgewerbeschule, Verlust der Direktorenstelle. 1917 Übersiedlung in die Schweiz.

1920 Emigration in die Niederlande. In den frühen 1920er Jahren Arbeit an Architekturentwürfen für das private Rjiksmuseum Kröller-Müller. 1925 Übersiedlung nach Belgien und Architekturprofessur an der Universität Gent. 1926 Leitung des Instituts Supérieur des Art Décoratifs Brüssel. Entwürfe für Eisenbahnwaggons und Kreuzfahrtschiffe. 1936 Emeritierung. 1937 Teilnahme an der Weltfachausstellung in Paris und 1939 an der New York World’s Fair. 1939 Berufung zum Mitglied der Königlichen Kommission der Monumente und Landschaften. 1947 Rückzug in die Schweiz.