documenta
archiv
Index:
People
Pablo Picasso
sculptor, graphic designer, painter, stage designer, artist
25.10.1881 Málaga, Spain
08.04.1973 Mougins, France

1896 attendance of the art academy in Barcelona. 1897 study at the Academia San Fernando in Madrid. 1901 co-publisher of the magazine "Arte Joven" (Young Art). 1904 moved to Paris, shaped the art movement of Cubism together with George Braques. 1917 drawings for the stage design and costumes of the premiere of the ballet "Parade" in Paris. 1928/29 first wire sculptures and iron sculptures. 1936 director of the Prado Museum in Madrid.


1937 production of the painting "Guernica" and later the mural paintings "War" and "Peace", with which he championed for peace. 1941 joins the French communist party. From 1945 chairman of the Franco-Spanish Aid Committee for Spanish republicans. 1945 production of lithographs and, from 1947 of ceramics.


1948 awarded the "Médaille de Reconnaissance Française". 1962-1965 production of concrete sculptures. 1963 opening of the Museo Picasso in Barcelona, later a large part of the estate became part of its collection.

documenta
archiv
Index:
Personen
Pablo Picasso
Bildhauer, Grafiker, Maler, Bühnenbildner, Künstler
25.10.1881 Málaga, Spanien
08.04.1973 Mougins, Frankreich

1896 Besuch der Kunsthochschule in Barcelona. 1897 Studium an der Academia San Fernando in Madrid. 1901 Mitherausgeber der Zeitschrift „Arte Joven“ (Junge Kunst). 1904 Umzug nach Paris, Prägung der Kunstrichtung des Kubismus zusammen mit George Braques. 1917 Anfertigungen von Zeichnungen für Bühnenbild und Kostüme der Uraufführung des Balletts „Parade“ in Paris. 1928/29 Anfertigung erster Drahtplastiken und Eisenskulpturen. 1936 Direktor des Prado-Museums in Madrid.


1937 Anfertigung des Gemäldes „Guernica“ sowie später den Wandgemälden „Der Krieg“ und „Der Frieden“, mit denen er sich für Frieden einsetzt. 1941 Beitritt zur kommunistischen Partei Frankreichs. Ab 1945 Vorsitzender des französisch-spanischen Hilfskomitees für republikanische Spanier. 1945 Anfertigung von Lithographie sowie ab 1947 von Keramiken.


1948 Auszeichnung mit der „Médaille de Reconnaissance Française“. 1962-1965 Anfertigung von Betonskulpturen. 1963 Eröffnung des Museo Picasso in Barcelona, später Übernahme eines Großteils des Nachlasses.